Skip to content

Population Health Leaders in Academic Medicine Working Group (PHLAM)

 

Overview

The Population Health Leaders in Academic Medicine (PHLAM) Working Group seeks to bring together leaders of academic population health entities (e.g., departments, institutes) to provide a platform for strengthening and sustaining the growing field of population health science. Initially focusing on Academic population health entities within schools of medicine and population health, the group aims in the future to expand to academic units housed in schools and departments of public health, social science and related fields. PHLAM participants meet throughout the year on a quarterly basis.

The goals of the Working Group include:

  • Learning from peers about the nature of comparable efforts at other institutions;
  • Solving common challenges;
  • Establishing a typology of academic initiatives that articulates core features of interdisciplinary population health oriented programs; and
  • Providing peer mentoring for leadership development.

PHLAM is co-led by Dr. Marc Gourevitch, Chair of the Department of Population Health at NYU Langone Health, Dr. Angie Fagerlin, Professor and Chair, Department of Population Health Sciences, University of Utah School of Medicine, and Dr. Celette Sugg Skinner, Professor and Inaugural Chair of the Department of Population and Data Sciences at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Third Annual PHLAM Meeting

The Population Health Leaders in Academic Medicine (PHLAM) Working Group’s 3rd Annual Meeting will convene virtually on October 18, 2021 from 11:00-4:00 EST / 10:00-3:00 CST / 9:00-2:00 MST / 8:00-1:00 PST. For more information, please complete the form here: https://redcap.link/PHLAM

Who Should Register for the PHLAM Virtual Annual Meeting?

The PHLAM Working Group is open to the leaders of academic entities at schools of medicine and schools of population health that focus primarily on the field of population health.  By “academic entities”, we mean departments, divisions, centers, and institutes.  Meeting attendees should have an interest in learning more about shared opportunities and challenges in directing academic population health efforts at their institutions, including matters of organizational structure, intra-school relationships, research agendas, healthcare delivery system involvement, community engagement, institutional expectations, and educational initiatives.