Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2020 Award Winners!

2020 J. Michael McGinnis Leadership Excellence Award Winner


2020 IAPHS Community Research Partnership Award

c/o the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation


The Sunnyside Strong collaboration is a community-engaged research project in Houston, Texas. The project, supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Interdisciplinary Research Leaders program and led by Felicia Jackson, Family Support Services Manager at the Houston Area Urban League, Rachel Kimbro, PhD, a sociologist at Rice University, and Quianta Moore, MD, JD and a Fellow in Child Health Policy at the Baker Institute for Public Policy. Read more

2020 IAPHS Mentoring Award Winner


Robert Hummer is the Howard W. Odum Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Fellow of the Carolina Population Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is also Co-Director of the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) and President-Elect of the Population Association of America. He came to UNC in summer of 2015 after spending 19 years at the University of Texas at Austin, where he served as Director of their NICHD-supported Population Research Center between 2001–05 and Chairperson of their Department of Sociology from 2006–10. In 2010, he was presented with the Clifford Clogg Award for Early Career Achievement by the Population Association of America. Read more

2020 Milbank Quarterly Early Career Award


2020 IAPHS Postdoctoral Award


Caitlin received her Ph.D. in sociology from Harvard University in
2017. Her work seeks to understand the origins of dietary disparities
by examining how parents across the socioeconomic spectrum decide what
to feed their children. Integrating insights from cultural sociology,
public health, and behavioral economics, this research highlights how
parents’ food choices arise from the combined influences of their
material circumstances and their ideas about food, family, childhood,
and money. Caitlin is currently a postdoctoral affiliate at the
Nutrition Policy Institute at the University of California, Berkeley.

2020 IAPHS Student Award


Elizabeth Clausing is a doctoral candidate in anthropology , having received in BS and BA in Honors Integrative Biology and Anthropology at the University of Illinois.

Elizabeth Clausing is a PhD candidate in the Department of Anthropology at the University of California, San Diego working in Dr. Amy Non’s Genetic Anthropology Lab. She received a BS and BA in Honors Integrative Biology and Anthropology at the University of Illinois. Her dissertation examines how subjective measures of stress (psychosocial stress) associates with objective measures of stress (epigenetic aging, DNA methylation, and hair cortisol). She is particularly interested in how stress can impact the body through epigenetic inheritance via DNA methylation in mothers and children. She is also interested in how early childhood experiences (e.g., low socioeconomic status, childhood adversity) can affect health in adulthood. Read more