Skip to content



2022 Award Committee

 Committee provides development, oversight and selection of the six IAPHS awards offered at each annual meeting.

Nomita Bajwa (Chair), University of Houston
Taylor Hargrove (Board Liaison), University North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2022 Blog Editorial Board

Members advise on themes and strategies for the blog, author posts, and recruit other authors to participate in the blog. 

Jarron Saint Onge (Blog Editor)
JoAnne Dyer (Blog Manager)

2022 Communications Committee

Responsible for developing and implementing an overall communications strategy for IAPHS as well as for the content and timeliness of the IAPHS website, blog, social media, and newsletter.

Rita Hamad (Chair), University of California, San Francisco

2022 Finance Committee

A subcommittee of the Board responsible for overseeing IAPHS financial activities; recommending an annual budget; recommending levels of membership, conference, and other fees.

Steven Woolf (Chair), VCU Center on Society and Health
Cynthia Colen (Treasurer), 
Ohio State University

2022 Membership Committee

Responsible for developing and overseeing IAPHS activities to expand and maintain membership and to promote diversity in its membership and leadership.

Anna Zajacova (Co-Chair), University of Western Ontario

Kaori Fujishiro (Co-Chair), CDC

Tia Palermo (Co-Chair), University of Buffalo

2022 Meeting Program Committee

Develops the themes and program for annual conferences.

Julie Maslowsky (Co-Chair), University of Illinois Chicago

Dustin Duncan (Co-Chair), Columbia University

Tiffany Green (Co-Chair), University of Wisconsin-Madison

Mark Hayward (Co-Chair), University of Texas at Austin

2022 Mentoring Committee

Oversees the IAPHS Mentoring Program established in 2019 to meets the needs of members – at any career stage – who could use advice on professional development issues.

LaShawnDa Pittman, University of Washington

Johnelle Sparks, University of Texas at San Antonio

2021 Nominations Committee

Coordinates the process of developing diversity goals for nominations for leadership positions in IAPHS, preparing nominations for elected officers and Board members, and supervising IAPHS elections.

Kathleen Mullan Harris (Chair), University of North Carolina

2022 Professional Development Committee

Oversees and guides the professional development activities for the organization.  Activities could include webinars, annual meeting sessions, workshops, and membership surveys.

William Story (Chair), University of Iowa College of Public Health
Jennifer Karas Montez (Board Liason/Co-Chair), Syracuse University

2022 R2A Working Group

Members develop activities that support IAPHS’s objective to improve population health by promoting the communication and application of science. 

Christine Bachrach (Co-Chair), University of Maryland
Vinu Ilakkuvan (Co-Chair), Milkin Institute School of Public Health

2022 Racial & Social Justice Committee


Marino Bruce (Liaison/Co-Chair), Vanderbilt University

LaToya O’Neal, University of Florida

2022 Student Committee

Working group represents student members of IAPHS. The groups focus is to generate opportunities, at the annual conference and throughout the year, which provide professional development resources for student members.

Sandte Stanley (Co- Chair), Washington State University

Rae Anne Martinez (Co-Chair), UNC Chapel Hill