Call for Nominations

This summer, IAPHS will hold an election to choose a new president-elect, three Board members, Secretary, and a Student Representative. The Nominations Committee, chaired by Past President Bruce Link, invites suggestions for nominees. Nominations must be received by February 15, 2019. Click here to submit a nomination.

About the positions:

  • The president-elect serves IAPHS for three years.  H/she will serve as president-elect for a year, will lead the organization as president in 2021, and will serve as past-president in 2022.  In 2020, s/he will begin planning the 2021 conference.  In 2022, s/he will serve as chair of the Nominations Committee.
  • Board members provide overall leadership and strategic direction to the organization. During their three-year terms, they participate in monthly conference calls and in some cases serve on committees.
  • The Secretary serves a three-year term. S/he prepares the minutes of all Board meetings and gives a report on Board activities at IAPHS membership meetings.
  • The Student Board Member serves a two year term. S/he functions as a regular Board member with full voting rights but is expected to represent the interests of student members of the association.

IAPHS structures its nominations to assure diversity in the leadership of the organization by assuring that nominees for the various positions vary by career stage, discipline, and other characteristics.

Officers who will be serving in 2020 are:

President: Frederick Zimmerman, University of California, Riverside
President-Elect: TBD
Past President: Ana Diez Roux, Drexel University
Treasurer: Cynthia Colen, Ohio State University
Secretary: TBD
Executive Director: Suzanne Bevan, SSB Management

Board members who will be continuing their service in 2020 are:

Allison Aiello, University of North Carolina, Gillings School of Global Public Health
James Broesch, Vancouver Coastal Health Authority
Richard Carpiano, University of California, Riverside
Dustin Duncan, New York University School of Medicine
Sanne Magnan, HealthPartners Institute
Julie Maslowsky, University of Texas at Austin

We welcome your comments about ways of adding further diversity to the Board as well as your suggestions for nominees. Please send comments to Sue Bevan, IAPHS Executive Director ( Anyone can submit suggestions for nominees, even if not yet an IAPHS member.  IAPHS also welcomes self-nominations.  Suggested nominees need not be members, but must join when accepting a nomination.

Many thanks from the Nominations Committee and the IAPHS Board.