Skip to content

J. Michael McGinnis Leadership Excellence Award Winners

2021 – David Kindig

David A. Kindig is Emeritus Professor of Population Health Sciences and Emeritus Vice-Chancellor for Health Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Medicine. He is Emeritus and Founding Co-Chair of the Institute of Medicine Roundtable on Population Health Improvement. He Co-Directed the Wisconsin site of the Robert Wood Johnson Health & Society Scholars Program, was an initial Co-PI on the Robert Wood Johnson MATCH grant under which the County Health Rankings were developed, was the Founder of the RWJF Roadmaps to Health Prize and an IAPHS Founding Board Member. Read more

2020 – Nancy Adler

Nancy E. Adler, Ph.D. is the Lisa and John Pritzker Professor of Psychology in the Departments of Psychiatry and Pediatrics at UCSF and Director of the Center for Health and Community. She received her BA from Wellesley College and her PhD in Social Psychology from Harvard University. Read more

2019 – J. Michael McGinnis

Michael McGinnis, MD, MA, MPP is a longstanding field leader in population health, through his research, publications, and actions. Awarded one of the field’s most prominent recognitions—the 2018 Fries Prize for Improving Health—he was cited for “fundamentally transforming our nation’s understanding about how to improve health by re-conceptualizing the nation’s perspective on its leading health threats [see  Actual Causes of Death in the United States (JAMA) and The Case for More Active Policy Attention to Health Promotion (Health Affairs)], and establishing the Healthy People process of national goals and objectives to target action.” Read more