Skip to content

Humana Foundation
Excellence in Health Equity Research Award


The Humana Foundation Excellence in Health Equity Research Award recognizes outstanding individuals who have made scholarly advances to improve the understanding of, or made advancements towards, health equity. Under this award, health equity is defined as the elimination of unjust, avoidable, or unnecessary barriers in health and health care which can adversely impact population health and wellbeing. We are particularly excited to recognize scholars whose work advances the understanding of how the conditions under which people grow, live, work, and play impact equity in overall health and wellbeing. This may include, but is not limited to, efforts that address health care, health among specific populations, mental health, and nutrition.


  • This award will be given to an individual who has received a PhD, MD, or comparable graduate degree.
  • We encourage people to apply from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds in both academic and nonacademic institutions.
  • Must be a member of IAPHS at the time of receiving the award.
  • Self-nominations are welcome.


  •  A brief statement, no longer than 500 words, that outlines the nominee’s contributions within the past 5-7 years. The statement should clearly outline how the nominee’s contributions exemplify the advancement of health equity work.
  • CV
  • Finalists will be asked to provide up to 3 letters of support.

Award recognition:

Award recipient will receive a $5,000 honorarium or funds that can be used for expense reimbursement to attend the IAPHS conference. Award winners will be recognized in a plenary session at the conference.

Multiple Nomination Policy

If multiple nominations are received for the same individuals, nominators will be contacted to coordinate a joint nomination. Nomination forms include the option for multiple signatures in support of the individual being nominated for the award. If you have questions related to a joint nomination, please contact IAPHS Executive Director, Sue Bevan.